FCC Mandates 10 Digit Dialing in 2022

FCC Mandates 10 Digit Dialing in 2022

Due to a new federal mandate, beginning in mid-2022 all telephone calls in South Dakota will need to include the area code when dialed — even local calls within the same town. This switch to 10-digit dialing is necessary because the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has adopted 988 as a new three-digit abbreviated dialing code for a National Suicide Prevention and Mental Health Crisis Lifeline 

South Dakota must convert to 10-digit dialing because 988 is currently used as a prefix in the Sioux Falls area. Phone systems won’t recognize the short dial as the national suicide hotline. Implementation of 10-digit dialing requires conversion of the entire 605 area codeso all South Dakota residents will be required to dial 10 digits by July 16, 2022.  

What is the new dialing procedure? 

You will need to dial the area code + telephone number in order to complete all local calls, including those you currently dial using seven digits.  

Who does this affect? 

Everybody with a telephone number in the 605 area code will need to switch to 10-digit dialing.  

When does the change begin? 

To ease the transition, Golden West has already activated 10-digit dialing as an option. Customers may dial either seven or 10 digits until July 16, 2022, when the cutover becomes official.  

Beginning July 16, 2022, dialing 988 will route your call to the National Suicide Prevention and Mental Health Crisis Lifeline. In the meantime, you will need to dial 800-273-TALK (8255) for help. 

What do I need to do? 

In addition to dialing 10 digits for every phone call, you will need to reprogram all automatic dialing equipment to ensure calls are completed. Examples include life safety systems, medical monitoring devices, fax machines, security systems and gates, speed dialers, mobile phone contact lists, call forwarding settings, voicemail services, and other similar equipment. Update your website, business cards, stationery, advertising materials, checks, and other items to include the area code if it is not already listed.  

What is staying the same? 

  • Your telephone number will not change. 

  • The price of a call and other rates and services will not change. 

  • What is considered a local call now will remain a local call regardless of the number of digits dialed. 

  • You can still dial 211, 311, 411, 511, 611, 711, 811 and 911 using just three digits. 

If you have any questions, contact Golden West at Additional information is available on the FCC website. 1-855-888-7777 (option 2). Additional information is available on the FCC’s website at https://www.fcc.gov/consumers/guides/ten-digit-numbering-and-emergency-call-handling-procedures-internet-based-trs.